Erne-ing All-Rookie Honors

Apr 30, 2018

by: Ken Oda,

Minot, ND – The Minot Minotauros are proud to announce that Lincoln Erne was voted to the 2017/18 NAHL Central All-Rookie Team (full team below).  Erne posted four goals and 13 assists for 17 points in his first season as a Tauro including two game winning goals.

Tauros Head Coach and General Manager Marty Murray said of Erne, “Lincoln stepped in right away this season and played 55 games for us on the back end.  He improved as the season went on and had a few big goals like the game winner the last day of the season.”  Murray continued, “we’re happy for Lincoln and look forward to big things from him the rest of this year and next season.”

With the playoffs still going Erne was still focused on the team and not individual awards; “this year has been great, coach Wags and coach Murray have been great to me and the team.  We had some ups and downs this year but as a team we’re catching our stride right now.  My billets, the Picards, have been great too.”   Erne added “it’s been a all I could hope for in my first year and I’m excited to see how far we can go.”

The Minotauros currently hold a two-games-to-none advantage in the best-of-five Central Division Finals over the Austin Bruins.  Game Three is this Friday in Minot.  If the Tauros close out the series they will advance past the divisional round of the Robertson Cup Tournament for the first time in franchise history.  Tickets for Game Three are just $5.00 through the “Tickets” tab atop this page.

2017-18 Central Division All-Rookie Team
Forward: Nathan Burke, Aberdeen Wings
Forward: Andy Willis, Austin Bruins
Forward: Adam Stacho, Bismarck Bobcats
Defense: Lincoln Erne, Minot Minotauros
Defense: Zach Van Sant, Bismarck Bobcats
Goalie: Ryan Fanti, Minnesota Wilderness
NAHL players that have not played in a junior league or team prior to the 2017-18 season (any junior league or team in any location, foreign or domestic), or entered the season having played less than 10 NAHL hockey regular season games, are considered rookies and eligible for All-Rookie recognition and honors by the NAHL