Tauro Alum Chase Titles

Mar 27, 2019

Minot, ND – Last night three former Tauros, Austin Kilian, Landyn Cochrane, and Paul O’Connor along with current Tauros goaltending coach Wyatt Waselenchuk helped the Minot State Beavers capture the Murdoch Cup presented to the ACHA DI National Champions for the second time in school history.  This weekend ten more Tauros alumni will continue their chase for a college title, looking to advance to the NCAA DI Frozen Four which will be in Buffalo, NY, this year.

Three Tauro Alum Blake Lizotte, Jon Lizotte, and Jacob Benson will be in action for the overall number one seed Saint Cloud State in the West Region in game played in the Scheels Arena in Fargo, ND.  They take on American International College.  The winner of that game will take on the winner of Ohio State and Denver.

No Tauro Alum are in action in the Northeast Region which starts with UMass taking on Harvard and Notre Dame facing Clarkson.

Both games in the East Region feature teams with Tauro Alum as Michael Bigelbach and the Minnesota State – Makato Mavericks take on Providence.   While in the other half of the region’s bracket Ryan Ruck and Northeastern will take on Cornell.

Every team in the Midwest Region has at least one Tauro Alum, meaning at least one former Tauro is guaranteed a spot in the Frozen Four.  Jake Rosenbaum and the defending NCAA DI National Champion Minnesota Duluth Bulldogs take on goaltender Eric Dop and Bowling Green.  The winner will then face the winner of Marcus Chorney and Quinnipiac against Arizona State and a pair Tauro Alum Johnny Walker, Jake Clifford.

Meanwhile in Minot the Tauros continue their defense of the Central Cup as part of their chase for the franchise’s first ever Robertson Cup title.  Four games, all at home remain on the regular season schedule as the Tauros jockey for playoff position.  The Robertson Cup Playoffs begin April 12th.  For updates on the current and former Tauros be sure to follow the Tauros on social media (Facebook, Twitter) or check back here at minotauroshockey.com.