Tauros Name Captains

Oct 1, 2015

By: Ken Oda, minotauroshockey.com

Minot, ND – The Minot Minotauros have named Jared Brandt as the fifth captain in franchise history.  Brandt follows Jon Lizotte, Tim Donohue, Derek Tylka, and Ben Hughes; as players to have worn the “C” on their jersey for the Tauros.  Five Tauros: Jake Dittel, James LaDouce, Max Mettler, Christian Mohs, and Johnny Walker; will rotate wearing an “A” as assistant captains.

Head Coach Marty Murray described Brandt, “Jared’s been a tremendous success story.  He has been with us for 3 years, he had some growing pains in year one but really developed into a top defenseman in our league last season, and proved it at the Showcase where he really stood out.”  Murray continued about the full group, “we’re very happy, it’s a larger group than we’ve had in the past but just as they all bring something different to the table on the ice each guy brings different leadership qualities to the group that makes us stronger.”

As Murray mentioned, Brandt is in his third and final season with the Minotauros.  To this point he has played 96 regular season and 11 postseason games and is the most tenured player on the Tauros roster.  In that time the St. Peter’s, MO, native has 3 goals and 18 assists as a Tauro.  Brandt agreed with Murray regarding his growth in Minot saying, “it means a lot to be named captain, I’ve come a long way and I’m ready to lead the team.”  Having played here the last two seasons with Lizotte and Donohue as his captains he said he learned from each of the differing leadership styles; “Tim was a vocal leader and Jon lead by example, watching both I saw how important it is to be yourself and take charge.”

With a 3-1-0 record at the NAHL Showcase the Tauros are 3-1-2 overall and off to the best start in their five season history.  The strong leadership group paired with a deep talent pool has the Tauros poised to challenge for their first Central Division crown and a chance to play for the Robertson Cup.  Should the Tauros reach their goal, they now know who the first man to lift the Cup will be.